SACNA Purpose and Aims

SACNA aims to promote the professional development of clinical neuropsychology by:

  • Spreading knowledge and skills to those interested in clinical neuropsychology;
  • Identifying and providing a body of individuals competent to advise on the teaching of neuropsychology and professional matters pertaining to it;
  • Fostering and encouraging the development of training in clinical neuropsychology;
  • Encouraging international cooperation in neuropsychology and contributing to healthcare in South Africa.

For information on the relationship between SACNA and the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA), click here

For information pertaining to statement of SACNA membership on professional stationery, click here

To review the SACNA Constitution, click here


What is a Neuropsychologist?

A Neuropsychologist can assist in the diagnosis and treatment of brain related problems, such as memory disorders, attention deficits, dyslexia, impaired reasoning and the like.

Neuropsychologists can also contribute to the diagnosis and treatment of emotional problems due to brain dysfunction. For a list of accredited Neuropsychology service providers in your area, please click here




SACNA Full Member Credentialing

In order to maintain international standards of practice in the field, SACNA has established a credentialing process directed to registration as a Full Member of the association. SACNA Full membership is a peer-recognised indication of expertise in neuropsychology, and is well respected by medical physicians, mental health practitioners, allied professionals, and medico-legal experts.

Full members of SACNA are all psychologists who have been registered with the Health Professions Council of South Africa for a minimum of two years and who have demonstrated minimum levels of competence in the field of neuropsychology, via successful completion of an entrance examination and submission of several practical clinical reports for evaluation by the Credentialing Committee.

Executive Committee

Dr Sharon Truter - President
Ms Annelies Cramer - Past President - Treasurer
Dr June Rossi - President-Elect - CPD
Dr Frances Hemp - Secretary & Credentialing
Dr Menachem Mazabow - Member
Prof Ann Edwards - Member

Co-opted Committee Members

Ms Christi Gadd - Media & Technology
Ms Urvashi Maganlal
Ms Naomi van Wyk
Dr Erika Steenberg

Regional Chairs

Gauteng – Ms Andria Grobler
Western Cape – Ms Aimee Dollman
KwaZulu Natal – Dr Karl Swain
Free State – Dr Mariske Pienaar
Eastern Cape – Prof Brenda Beukman

Administrative Support

Ms Nicole Botha 
Contact her by clicking here.


You can read more about the SACNA Team in the Meet the SACNA Executive Committee article on Brainwaves